At practice we do two warm-up laps and then we do plyos. After that, we usually go up to the high school. Then, we most often work on ladders. Once we're done with ladders we can work on special events, which is like hurdles, throwing, and jumping. Then, we do two cool down laps and stretch.
Awhile ago, we had our first track meet. It was against Ft. Lupton, Valley, and Platte Valley. I decided to only run the 800 and the mile because I didn't practice long jump enough. I went out too fast on mile. By 300 meters, I felt like I was going to die. I ended up okay, but in the bottom half of the people. My time was a 7:10 which is an 8 second improvement. On the 800, I remembered to go slower in the first half of the race, but still didn't feel good. When I finished, my time was a 3:25, which disappointed me, and I was in the bottom half again, but just barely.
The week before spring break, we had another meet. It was at Highland. When we got there it was freezing and I forgot to bring sweats. My knees were really bothering me, so I decided to only run the 800. Coach told me to take it easy, so I did, but I ended up running a lot slower than I wish I did. Halfway through the race, I started watching the jumpers, and realized I was running really, really, slow. I don't know my time but I don't really want to know either.
A while ago, we had another meet at Highland. My knees were still bothering me a lot, so I decided to only run the 800 again. Coach told me that I should take it easy, as well. But I also wanted to improve since last time, so I tried to find a balance. When I was running, my legs felt fine, but I was really out of breath. On top of that, my knees still hurt. Unfortunately, I don't know my time.
Yesterday, we had another meet at Highland. This time, it was a relay meet, which means that there are no open events, only relays. I did the 3200 meter relay, which means that each person had to run an 800. I ran the first leg because I was the second fastest. When I finished, we were in last but we would have been in third if I didn't have to run out to lane seven to hand the baton to Megan, and then run back to lane one.
No comments:
Post a Comment